My Superhero Origin Story

My Superhero Origin Story

Power to code makes me feel like a Superhero and this is all about why and how I started to code.

ยท

5 min read

Creator at Brain and Heart

All of my Social Media handles and Tech related profiles says that. And it's not some random quote that I came across and thought it's cool. It took 6 years of experimentation and analysis to realize it.

Now, coming to my superhero origin story: No I did not get this superpower by any accident like most of the superheroes rather it was a very well though decision that I took after I analyzed the data that I have had gathered in the past 6 years.

Losing Code Virginity

The very first time I wrote code was in 6th standard, I made webpages in NOTEPAD !! Yes notepad !!! Writing every single tag manually, no Emmet, no Prettier. I was super proud of it because it has anchor tags, yeah it was a big deal for a 10 yo kid that he can Connect multiple pages. It also had links to my favorite online games.

I was so proud of myself at that time and used to code the entire day. Googling and coding. I still remember my favorite tag was the marquee tag. But after those few days I stopped.

One night stand with Python

Then we directly jump to 2019, I have finished given my 12th board exams, JEE Mains (twice) and GUJCET (entrance exam for admission in Gujarat colleges). I was very clear that I wanted to take admission in Information Technology, so I started leaning Python because AI ML ๐Ÿ˜‚

I googled what is the most popular in demand language and started learning it. Finished the basic but then I was like what's next, I had no idea so I abandoned it. After that never touched any mainstream programming language till date.

Hello guys !! Welcome back to my YouTube channel

Wait a sec !!! Let's rewind back a bit because the journey is very important. The entire 9th and 10th standard I was dedicated to run a Tech YouTube channel, I don't remember the name but I guess it was The Awesome Guy or something like that. It made it popular among my school friends and relatives. I had gained 33 subscribers and 0.23$ ad revenue.

I used to upload videos on topics such as:

  • How to block people on your WI-FI
  • How to send APK on WhatsApp
  • etc...

That is when I decided I want to go in Tech. Just about then the artist in me woke up.

Designer before Developer ??

From the title you must know now that I'm a huge superhero fanboy/nerd whatever you wanna call it. So in my 11th and 12th standard I started making Superhero fanarts and photo manipulation in Photoshop and I was quite good at it ๐Ÿ™ˆ Also tried social media designs and stuff.

Hell lot of exploring

Then came the whole Python thing in early 2019. After that I joined a startup (Nov 19), well 2 startups (April 2020) and explored a hell lot of stuff !!!

  • I did tele calling sales.
  • I wrote content for the startup.
  • I managed their entire SM Team that included approving content ideas and final design.
  • For the other startup I did one-on-one sales on zoom calls.
  • I am the member of their core team, my main forte is Community Management.
  • I used to run the Book Club and organize game night.

Along with that I was doing Video Editing, I did little freelancing and an Internship. I loved recoding and editing videos !! I still do.

I also started a Podcast; scripted, recorded, edited and published from scratch.

This went on till Sept 2021, now comes the life changing 2AM talk

Superhero incoming

Now you must be wondering why are you telling us all of these things, these are irrelevant !! And not at all related to coding. My answer to that is just wait and watch and you'll realize

So this second startup is actually a Community, it's called Community of Executors. It's like a second family to me in the sense of everything from guidance to helping to enjoying. On late night in September around 1-2AM we were talking about career and stuff. This is where the 6 years of experimentation boils down to.

I say "I'm thinking to going into tech as a career but I'm afraid because there I need to start from 0, whereas in video editing I am market ready !! I have done freelancing and internship to know that I am cable of earning decent money from video editing. And I'm afraid that my these many years of exploration and experimentation will be a waste if I start code from 0 as a career"

First question from them "Why do you want to go in Tech in the first place ?"

Honest answer "Money !! and Leverage. You write code once and unlimited number of people can use it, you can't do this with video editing." Now here is the main reason:

After trying out all of this things I realized that one thing is common in all of them and it is:

C R E A T I N G

Creating something from scratch !! Whether it is YT Videos or Podcast or Designs or Content Writing or Video Editing

That is exactly what coding does !!! Making something out of nothing !!!

Plus I also knew that I'm good at it that I can program, I can deal with all the logical and complex stuff.

Then my community members explained me and convinced me that "No experience is ever wasted in life, now or later it will help you. So if you think code is a better career choice then channelize your energy towards it" and more such things.

The very next day I find the neoG Camp levelZero playlist and I watch the first video, followed the tutorial. Instantly felt amazing, loved it !!! And found out that levelOne admissions are closing in 10 days. I hurried up and completed till Mark 15 in 6-7 days. I used to watch and code for like 10 hrs in a day.

I didn't wanted to miss the golden opportunity. And today we are here I have completed my Frontend Web Development from neoG levelOne. Soon will complete my fullstack projects too.

I just wanna take a moment and thank all of my Community Members and fellow neoGrammers who have helped me throughout this journey โค